Getting Loopy and Garageband to Play nice together?

edited February 2012 in General
I am relatively new to the MIDI world, but I am trying to keep my head above water with the lingo and the learning while going insane at the amount of possibilities. So in other words, pardon me if my question seems a bit dense...

I want to know if I can use a midi keyboard, playing sounds through ios garageband, to record into loopy.

I am using the iRig midi device to get the hardware keyboard into my iPhone.

From what I have messed around with, I can start a loop, play it in the background, and play (for example) the piano in garageband along WITH the loops, but can not actually record something from the piano onto a loop.

Throw in the magnificent softstep (by keith mcmillen instruments) and my live looping set-up would be perfect, if for this one feature being possible.

Thanks for the help, and the support for this app astounds me. Michael, you are tre impressive!

Comments

• Thanks heaps for the kind words @vortexas!

Funny you should ask - no, this has never been possible. Until... well, soon. I'm currently working on what I think is a pretty game-changing new project for iOS called Audio Bus, which will facilitate precisely this kind of usage scenario. It'll need cooperation by other app developers (which Apple, being Apple, is unlikely to give, so don't count on Garageband ever supporting this), but it will allow you to play instrument apps straight into (among others) Loopy. We're looking at a launch within the next couple of months.
  • Faaaaaantastic. Great news indeed. I must say I envy your job a bit: constantly being challenged to find new ways to make your "baby" better and being pushed to advance it. And with praise from the masses (and critics) for your hard work to help fuel it all....not bad at all, good sir.
  • Ah yeah, I have myself a time ;-)