Changing tempo results in very poor audio quality

I just installed and am trying out Loopy and see a lot of potential for my use. I am a singer and acoustic guitarist who also has to manage the mixer so Loopy will greatly help in freeing my hands.

The thing is that in our music, the tempo starts slow, speeds up over time and after crescendo, comes back down. When I change tempo in Loopy to simulate this, the quality of the sped up loop sounds really terrible until several loops later. I'm not sure what Loopy is doing but it seems like all the loaded loops are converted into this new tempo.

Considering the tempo gradually changes, processing all loops for every step change in tempo seems excessive. Of course I cannot think of a better way to handle this. At the very least, it will help to understand what Loopy is doing so that I can manage this scenario better.

I have the iPad 3 and have quit all running apps, if that makes any difference.

Thanks for the help and the great app.

Comments

• Any sampled audio must go through a re-sampling process which takes time of course, so not ideal for this type of use.
    However I have done this in the past with a keyboard sampler in Reaper.
    You must copy the sample, rename it, run a time stretching utility, or in your case, time compression.
    You have to map each sample to a different key (c, c#, d etc.) so it appears to get faster.
    Sorry, there is no easy way to do this digitally.
    I must admit that Loopy has a very good resampling algorithm compared to most other programs.
    One other app that has a really good quality resampling algorithm is the Novation Launchpad app.

• I guess I understand why resampling needs to happen. However, considering I'll be recording live and speeding up on the fly, it has to happen realtime. Loopy does do this, of course, but I just want to understand how it is done.