Complet e MIDI newB confused by the FCB1010

edited April 2013 in Equipment

My setup is the focusrite 8i6 into the Ipad mini. When I first got loopyhd I plugged my old roland keyboard into it and was able to program bindings instantly, just by pressing the key I wanted to trigger the action. For instance middle C was my "record without count in" binding. I then started jamming with my keyboard on the floor, carefully triggering loopy with my toes while I played guitar. Needless to say this isn't so practical so I bought the FCB1010. But I have no knowledge of midi and am completely stumped.
I went thru the steps described in the "Idiots guide to the FCB1010" to set the midi channel to 1. Was this not necessary? I'm not even sure what midi channel the scarlet8i6 is using, or does the scarlet only pass thru, and loopy is the midi channel selector?? I can find no info in my scarlet user guide abt midi channel selection.

I tried to follow IvanM's programming guide, but get stumped at step 5. After pressing the up switch of step four, all footswitches 1-10, light up. Does this mean all of them have associated midi info already?

I just bought the FCB 1010 off of Amazon, it wasn't brand new, but was sold as "like new". Perhaps it's been programmed already? The FCB1010 user guide shows how to reset the unit to factory presets, but the default settings are for "V-Amp family products" , "Behringer guitar amps", and "Bass V-amp product range". Which factory default do I use?

Help! I don't think I've ever come across a more un-user friendly piece of equipment.

Comments

• I felt exactly the same as you at first, but after some reading, I now think it is actually very easy to use.

Basically, here are the things you need to know about MIDI as it relates to Loopy and the FCB1010: