Non Microphone Looping

edited March 2013 in Techniques

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the loopy app so bear with me. I'm wondering if it's possible to use loopy with only instruments rather than a microphone. For example I want to have multiple instruments going into a mixer and from the mixer going into my iPhone. Then from my iphone(where the instruments will be looped) have an audio out to go to some kind of amp or speakers and headphone monitoring for live playing. Also I will eventually get the behringer midi foot pedal so I don't have to touch the screen and can play live loops by just picking up instruments and looping them and so fourth. Here's a video of, essentially, what I want to accomplish.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVDbp2eM9M8
So I'm wondering what all cables I'll need to make this work out so I can play live and adjust in real time.
Thanks

Comments

• I use a microphone but loop keys, bass, guitar, and percussion (via electronic HandSonic). Basically, I plug all instruments into a small mixer then go from the mixer out into a soundcard and then into the iPad via a CCK. If you want, they know make plug and play USB mixers that should work with iPads, I don't really know about iPhones however. Behringer makes the QUSB series.

Cool video by the way.

• That could work, although I would like the CCK port to be free so that I can soon use the Behringer Midi Foot controller. I think I need to get an iRig to plug into the headphone jack and then split the audio out on the iRig to speakers/headphone monitoring. Hopefully this works without the iPhone's internal mic trying to simultaneously pick up noises.