Line 6, LoopyHD, and Roland Handsonic

edited February 2013 in Equipment

I want to perform live looping with my Roland Handsonic (HPD-15) though Loopy HD on my ipad2. I just purchased a Line 6 MIDI Mobilizer II along with its software app (MIDI Memo) which seems to work just fine. I can't seem to get any sound when I try to use this connection with LoopyHD. Loopy does identify the Mobilizer II, but I don't get any sound other than the looping of the ipad mic picking up me tapping on my Handsonic. I'm pretty new with MIDI, etc. Is there something I'm missing?

Comments

• I use my HandSonic 10...great instrument. I use it going through a small behringer sub mixer into a sound card to a CCK.

• edited February 2013

Since the MIDI mobilizer only sends MIDI data, not audio,
    you'll either need to:

1. Use the on-board Handsonic sounds and get a class compliant sound card and the CCK to send the audio to your iPad. (MIDI Mobilizer is not necessary). Loopy will be able to record the audio input. --OR--

2. Use the MIDI Mobilizer to send note trigger messages to a sampler app on your iPad. The app needs to be Audiobus compliant and Core MIDI compliant. No additional hardware would be needed, but you would have to buy a few apps to get it all working, and sending audio to Loopy.

Check here http://audiob.us/ for more info.

• I would like to get it to work with option 2. Does anyone know specifically which apps (along with audiobus) I would need to use the handsonic's internal sounds with loopy hd? Sorry I'm rather new with this.

• No apps needed for the internal sounds to be used. Just get a external soundcard that is class compliant (plug and play) and plug that into a CCK (or a powered HUB if needed) and then plug in your HandSonic! Easy as pie!