Hi! If your question relates to Loopy Pro, you may find a faster answer at one of the other Loopy Pro communities (https://loopypro.com/communities) – this forum has only a small number of active users.

Most Simple and Inexpensive Rig?

edited September 2012 in Equipment

I'm a beatboxer looking to use Loopy for live performances, and I was wondering what I'll need to have Loopy work as a simple loop-pedal replacement. I wouldn't be running any other inputs or effect pedals, but merely wanting to have my external mic and amp connect with my iPad somewhere in between haha.

I've been scouring the forums, and I've read a lot about Tascam iU2. Is that the only solution, or are there more simple, cheaper methods out there?

Comments

• For iPad u can utilise the camera connection kit and a core audio interface with midi, but I have no experience how reliable these are. Tascam is not a great option though: cheaply made, ridiculous short connection cable and some strange behaviour on some apps (incl loopy!). I am waiting for this http://us.focusrite.com/ipad-audio-interfaces/itrack-solo can not recommend but at least seems to be build much better than tascam. Will report in October once I get my hands on it.

• I see. Just curious, would a similar set-up be most optimal for Loopy on iPhone as well? Also, what kind of cables would be needed?

• FYI I'm testing the Tascam iU2 with the new iOS 6 and all the problems of strange behaviour seems to be gone...

• edited September 2012

@Balla

great to hear that! are you using the newest version of loopy? Also can one choose which channel goes to which loop and which loop goes to which output? Hope I made myself clear here. I was planning on getting tascam and just had the money saved up and then I read those bad reviews and held fire...then a possibility to buy a super cool amp came along and off went the saved up money :p
    NO LONGER LOOKING TO TEST iTRACK - dunno how - but I missed it lacks midi I/O!!! :(