Acoustic Instrument Setup

Hi!

I'm new to loopy and have never really had to use any tech like this so I was wondering if someone could help me out. Basically I want to be able to record sections of a piece live and loop over them until it creates a full piece. So Loopy seemed like a better, cheaper solution to buying an expensive Boss pedal.

I play woodwind instruments which are all acoustic (flutes, saxophones, double reeds, etc). So I am wondering what I need to be able to do this since it seems like most people are using this for guitars that you can just plug in. I'd imagine I need a mic and some sort of amp but don't know the best way to get those running through the ipad.

So if someone could give me some tips on setup and any favorite items or brands you use that would be great.

Comments

• @zlarimer - welcome to the forum. First, if you already have an iPad/iPhone for other reasons already, then it COULD be cheaper. Assuming you are a one man band scenario, below is, IMHO, a typical cost for low end hardware. This not to say it will be low quality output, but it will most likely have limitations. Also, depending on the specifics of your needs ( number of mics/inputs, portability, power source, size of space to fill with sound), the choice of suitable hardware will be better defined (limited). Great deals can sometimes be found, especially if you are not in a hurry or on a fixed time constraint.

$100.00 - $$$$ Midi foot controller (if D.I.Y. maybe $50.00) 5pin, USB, Bluetooth
    $50.00 - $$$$$ Audio + midi interface (assorted cables may add more $$)
    $40.00 - CCK ( to use class compliant USB versus direct iOS connection)

Needed for either route (Loopy or Boss pedal)
    $50.00 - $$$$$ microphone, stand
    $50.00 - $$$$$ powered speaker, amp, PA system, .... ( depends on the space you need to fill)