HOLD bindings and delay on the ON event

Getting started on some proper looping action after I acquired a proper audio interface (iConnectAudio4+) and a BlueBoard pedal. I'm trying to work out the best input bindings for the pedal, and managed to route it through Midiflow to get proper midi note events into Loopy.

The problem is that I would like to double the functionality of the pedal using HOLD events, but they are ruining the responsiveness of the primary ON events. For example, if I bind one of the buttons to "Toggle record" with C4 ON and "Toggle record, then overdub" on C4 HOLD, the primary record toggle will happen on OFF (i.e. when the button is released).

I am a programmer and I understand that you can't determine if a hold is going to happen at a time when the button is initially pressed, but due to the very precise need to detect the press, off simply isn't cutting it. I'm trying to bind hold actions that work nicely after the on action is triggered (record with overdub after record, reset session after toggle pause, select previous track after select next track) so it would be quite decent to simply be able to select the first action to go ahead on ON and do the secondary action after a HOLD is actually detected.

Am I out of luck on these or is there something I can do?

Comments

• Whoa! You got the BlueBoard pedal to work in momentary mode? How'd you do that? Mine insists on toggle mode only (push on, next push is off, then on again).