Simplest Behringer FCB1010 setup for Loopy on iDevice?

I tried an iRig BlueBoard for controlling Loopy on my iPad and didn't like the feel of it at all. The FCB1010 looks like a nice piece of gear at a reasonable price, plus it includes two expression pedals, which are add-ons for the iRig. Unfortunately, the 1010 apparently requires interfaces and setup that sounds like it could get real complicated real fast. A number of reviews complain about the huge learning curve. Is this a practical alternative for using Loopy on my iPad? I'm not very experienced in this area, so what are the minimum other items/apps that I need to make this work in the easiest way possible?

Comments

• Yes, the FCB1010 can be complicated as hell to get setup, but once you get your head around the configuration, it's pretty simple. You can get desktop software for programming it easier, but everything can technically be done from the board itself.

I only use two patches on the FCB1010 board. 00 is for controlling things in Tonestack, 01 is for controlling things in Loopy HD. I use the bottom five pedals for controlling the guitar pedal bypasses in my current preset in Tonestack. They stay there even through patch changes. To make this work nicely, I needed a UNO chip. Your ideal config might not require the stompbox functionality.

• edited February 2015

What hardware do I need to make it talk to my iPad Air? I use Loopy, Anytune, Jamup Pro and GarageBand.

• @joshuajonah is it possible to install the unofficial firmware to sort out bugs without installing the chip?