How to send complex midi messages to loopy using simple midi footswitch - Solved

edited October 2014 in Techniques

Hi All

I'm new to this forum so I thought I'd share what I've been up to with Loopy HD and other iPad apps.

As a guitarist, I've been using an iPad on stage for several years now but solely for displaying chord charts, lyrics and managing setlists, etc. To do this I've been using an excellent ios app called OnSong.

I recently started a project to see if I could replace all of my various guitar and vocal outboard gear with a single iPad. One of the first apps I began to play with in this quest was Loopy HD. After getting excited about Loopy, like a lot of people I then started to search for a coherent way to control the app via my feet whilst playing guitar. The available midi bindings in Loopy are excellent and extensive but what if a) you only have one or two midi footswitches at your disposal and b) you need to do different things with Loopy for different songs.

Enter OnSong and its midi integration feature (add-on).

Essentially, one of the main feature of OnSong is the ability to create/download/keep/organise/edit chord sheets and lyrics on your iPad. In this respect, OnSong has a great editor/word processor to allow you to edit songs and add information, chords, notes, etc. One very cool feature is the ability to define song sections such as Verse, Chorus, Bridge, etc. Even more cool, you can advance through song sections using a simple footswitch. Even way more cool, you can configure and send out multiple midi controller, program change, etc. messages from OnSong as each song section is reached. This means you can automate other apps from OnSong. For example, I use Jamup Pro for guitar processing. I can configure OnSong to automatically select the correct preset in Jamup when a song is loaded and then to change presets on the fly as I progress through the song. All I have to do is hit one footswitch to go to next song section.