Wouldn't an option to "snap" together the starting points of loops make sense?

edited April 2014 in General

I'm fairly new to this app. Here's my problem:

1. Use Genome MIDI Sequencer through another app with audiobus, recording the resulting rendered audio in Loopy (4 to 6 bars of music). The Midi clock of Genome is aligned with loopy while recording, and works/starts/stops ok.
  2. Save project.
  3. Attempt to do #1 again on different loop of the same project, and now the midi clock doesn't line up with the starting point of the first track I recorded.
  4. Go ahead and record anyway, and attempt to align them after the fact (usually after many trial-and-error adjustments).

Seems like there should be a way to have the two loops "snap-to" each other so the beginning of the loops can be easily aligned after they are recorded. Another (better) option would be to have the midi clock synchronize the new recording with the starting point of the existing loops, so they don't have to be aligned later.

Also the starting point of the loops should be clearly indicated somewhere inside the loop to allow for easier adjustment. After I record the audio, it's often difficult to figure out exactly where the starting point was.

One other thing. When I record the 2nd loop at the same tempo and same number of bars, part of the 2nd loop gets cut-off, don't remember if it's at the beginning or the end. I'm using the count-in feature set to bars.

Thanks

Comments

• How exactly are you starting/stopping Loopy recording? When you say you are using the "count-in feature set to bars", is it half, quarter, 1, 2, 4, 8 or 16 bars? What is your settings for Count-out record? Does the clock length (moving ring in the menu bar) match the loop marker in the first track, second track?