Is there any way to work loopy like a full scale loopstation for a guitarist?

edited May 2012 in General
Hey, I'm a guitarist who's wanted to get a loop station for some time now, and I just stumbled across this app - however, I thought I'd ask some questions before I get it (I apologize in advance for how long this is, and if it's not in the right place!)

Basically, I want to find a way to use my iphone, loopy, and a midi footswitch in order to loop multiple tracks live without having to spend over 450 dollars buying a boomerang iii or boss rc 50/300 looper

1st: is there any sort of equipment you can plug into an iphone (not ipad) that has both a standard 1/4 inch input AND a 1/4inch output? Basically, this would allow you to go from the 1/4 inch output of an electric guitar or your pedalboard into the loopy app on the iphone, and then go out another 1/4 inch cable into an amp. Does anything like that exist for the iphone?

I've seen plenty of stuff for the iphone that accepts a 1/4 inch input, but only ha 1/8 inch outputs (which won't work for what I'm trying to do), but I know that there are docks for the ipad that allow this. The only thing I've been able to find that might work would be the irig stomp, and that isn't available yet.

2nd: I've seen that it has midi - would this allow you to buy a midi footswitch, and do all of your looping hands free? Or is there still some stuff you'd have to use your hands for once the app is running?

(Bonus points if there's a midi footswitch that would be able to accept the guitar/pedal board's signal in a 1/4 inch input, do all of the loopy looping, then run the new signal out a 1/4 inch guitar output into the amp!)

Comments

• Hey,
    1. I'm afraid I don't know a great deal about hardware, but someone else may be able to help you there.
    2. Yep, that's the idea - all the usual actions are available via midi trigger (such as 'trigger record and select next track')
  • Question 1:
    iRiffport.