Scarlett 2i2 or iTrack Solo? USB interface question.

edited September 2013 in Equipment

Hey everyone, I'm new to the world of iOS interfaces and am excited to start experimenting with loopy. I was wondering what people's opinions are for an audio interface. I was looking at the 2i2 for a while and then came across iTrack Solo. They are pretty much the same price and therefore I am leaning towards the 2i2 due to the flexibility of it's inputs. People who use the 2i2, are you happy with it's performance through an iPad? I assume you just plug it into a hub and the hub via a CCK? Also, do you then just plug your midi footswitch through the hub as well? Or is there another audio interface people recommend? I'm a fan of focusrite preamps so I'm leaning towards some of their products.

Thanks in advance!

• Terry

Comments

• Focusrite's 2i2 sounds really nice with my acoustic guitar into Loopy. The scenario you describe should work, but keep in mind that your USB hub will need to be powered, with a wall plug. Others on the forum here have successfully run an audio interface and MIDI pedal thru a USB hub, so that should not be a problem.

Another factor: 2i2 (and any USB>CCK combo) will only work on iPads or devices with iOS 7.

• Thanks for the reply! Ya I assumed a powered hub would be required. Good to know about iOS 7. From what I have read a powered hub still won't be able to actually send power to the iPad though, correct? Seems like it should be able to.

Thanks again!

• edited September 2013

Coincidence that I was just discussing this over at audiobus. You don't need a wall plug to power a USB hub if you think out of the box a little bit. ;-)

http://forum.audiob.us/discussion/2104/seeking-powered-usb-hub-recommendatons#Item_6

And no way to power the iPad with a CCK in the chain. Apple limitation.